Violet & Rose is a reputable supplier of quality diamonds and precious stones. For most people, buying a diamond is a new experience and can be a little overwhelming. At Violet & Rose, our experienced staff will make understanding a diamond’s quality characteristics a simple process. All diamonds sold by Violet & Rose above 0.3 carats are certified for clear grading.

Tips For Choosing a Diamond

  • Identify the shape of the diamond you would like.
  • Set a minimum carat weight for yourself. If you're looking for a 1 carat diamond, not even the most beautiful ½ carat will do.
  • Start with the best quality diamonds that meet both shape and carat weight and then start compromising on the clarity, colour and cut in the following order:
    Clarity (look at diamonds down to VS2 before conceding in other areas)
    Colour (you can go as low as a H grade before looking at cut)
    Cut (You should not compromise below a good cut)
  • If you have found a diamond close to your budget using these steps, consider looking for a slightly smaller diamond to meet your budget. Normally a 10% decrease in size will not be picked up by the naked eye.
  • If you are still outside your budget, you will have to repeat the steps and concede a bit more on each level. Smaller diamonds won’t show flaws as much as larger diamonds will.

Diamond Grading Demystified


The weight of a diamond is measured in Carats. One carat is the equivalent of a 1/5th of a gram, so a 5 carat diamond will weigh 1 gram.

People also speak about “points” when talking about diamond sizes. Each carat is divided into 100 points, so a half-carat diamond, could also be called a 50 point diamond.



The colour of a diamond is rated on a clarity scale from D to Z, with D being a colourless diamond and F being a heavily saturated diamond in terms of colour.

D – F: Colourless
G – J: Near colourless
K – M: Faint yellow
N – R: Very light yellow
S – Z: Light yellow

Although colourless grade diamonds tend to have more value than the diamonds in the lower grades, this is not always the case. Diamonds can be classed as ‘Z’+, meaning they have a great saturation of color in them, they are then considered ‘fancy colour diamonds’ and are extremely rare.



The clarity of a diamond refers to the presence of internal and external characteristics in a diamond. Inclusions and blemishes are not always visible to the naked eye, but they greatly affect the clarity of a diamond. This is why it’s important to buy expertly graded diamonds.

The clarity of a diamond is graded on a scale of how many inclusions and blemishes it contains:

Flawless (FL): No inclusions and no blemishes visible under 10x magnification

Internally Flawless (IF): No inclusions and no blemishes visible under 10x magnification

Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2): Inclusions so slight they are difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification

Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2): Inclusions are observed with effort under 10x magnification, but can be characterized as minor

Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2): Inclusions are noticeable under 10x magnification

Included (I1, I2, and I3):



The cut of a diamond refers to the proportions that the rough diamond has been shaped into. If a diamond has been well cut and polished, it will reflect light from one internal service to the next, resulting in a beautiful sparkle, brilliance and fire flashing of a great diamond. Diamonds that are cut too deep or too shallow lose or leak light through the side or bottom and so reflect less sparkle, brilliance and fire. The cut also refers to the shape of the diamond, be it round, oval, pear, marquise, heart etc.

A diamonds cut is simply graded as: Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair, Poor.



No comment yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *